19 October 2014

Azkals want strong finish to AFF Suzuki Cup buildup

By  |

MANILA, Philippines — Hoping to finally surpass its semifinal finish in the last two editions of the AFF Suzuki Cup, the Philippines is eyeing three more matches to complete its preparation for the prestigious tournament set Nov. 22 to 28 in Hanoi.
The Azkals are already slated to face Nepal on Oct. 31 in Doha.
A friendly with Malaysia has been tentatively set on Nov. 8 probably in Manila, but Azkals coach Thomas Dooley and team manager Dan Palami want one more match to wrap up the buildup.
Palami said Qatar or Bahrain may also be invited for a match with the Azkals.
“We don’t want to be complacent and think we are strong already,” said Palami after the 5-0 drubbing of Papua New Guinea last Sunday. “We’re not at the form we want to be yet.”
Dooley said he will call up four more players based abroad for the Suzuki Cup.
Jerry Lucena and Martin Steuble are expected to beef up the midfield, while Filipino-Spanish defender Alvaro Silva, who plays in Kuwait, could finally make his much anticipated debut next month.
Roland Muller is also expected to be recalled.

Azkals to play a second friendly in Qatar

Azkals will play a second friendly against a club team in Qatar on November 3.

They will be leaving for Doha on October 28 , and will also play  a international friendly on October 31 against Nepal in Doha.

UFL FA League Cup - Sunday- Updated results and standings

14:15Laos FC
Dolphins United FCRizal Memorial StadiumDetails
17:15Manila All-Japan FC
Kaya FCRizal Memorial StadiumDetails
20:15Team Socceroo FC
Global FCRizal Memorial Stadium

Group A

Pos TeamPldPts
1Ceres - La Salle FC412
2Loyola FC512
3Stallion FC47
4Pachanga Diliman FC56
5Green Archers United FC55
6Manila Jeepney FC54
7Phil. Army FC40

Group B

Pos TeamPldPts
1Global FC515
2Kaya FC513
3Laos FC57
4Team Socceroo FC67
5Manila All-Japan FC55
6Forza FC54
7Dolphins United FC50

18 October 2014

Transfer news: Former Fulham keeper Neil Etheridge keen to find new club

Former Fulham goalkeeper Neil Etheridge admits he is hoping to fix himself up with a new club as soon as possible.

Etheridge is a free agent after leaving Fulham this summer following eight years at Craven Cottage.
There has been no shortage of interest in the 24-year-old, but Etheridge has been frustrated after seeing several options come to nothing.
However, the former Chelsea youngster is determined to bounce back from the setbacks and kick-start his career.
“I spent the last two weeks training at Wolves and thought I had done enough to earn myself a chance, but in the end it wasn’t to be," said Etheridge . "But that’s football and you just have to pick yourself up and get on with it.
“Football can have a habit of kicking you when you’re down and I suppose I’ve been very fortunate in my career up to now. I think what makes you as a professional is how you react to the challenges that football presents. 
"I had been at Fulham since I was 17 and so it was always going to be hard leaving, but the manner in which so many of us were released was a bitter pill to swallow."
Having been offered a contract at Championship side Charlton in the summer, Etheridge was given the dilemma of a trial with Premier League side Queens Park Rangers only for nothing to come from the trial at Loftus Road.
“It was tough because I feel a close affinity to Charlton - It was the first club I was ever loaned to and I know a lot of the people there, so it was a great place to be training and playing," added Etheridge.
"But I also have confidence in my ability to play in a Premier League set-up. So when I was offered a trial at QPR, I seized it. 
“I knew they were changing their line-up of keepers and I had the belief that I could earn a contract. 
"I felt that I had done my best, but I’ve discovered that sometimes it doesn't matter what you do. 

"Other situations can conspire against you in the window - transfers fall through, players get injured, plans get changed. But that’s why football is such a tough career.” 

UFL FA League Cup - Saturday - Updated results

14:15Green Archers United FC
Phil. Army FCEmperador StadiumDetails
17:15Pachanga Diliman FC
Stallion FCEmperador StadiumDetails
20:15Manila Jeepney FC
Loyola FCEmperador StadiumDetails

17 October 2014

German football all-stars to play football greats of the Philippines in Manila - Philippines 0-13 Germany

German all-stars and former national team players are coming to Manila to play the football greats of the Philippines on October 18 at 2:30 pm at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.
The game will feature German football legends and 1990 World Champion Guido Buchwald and 1996 European Champions Fredi Bobic and Dieter Eilts, among others.
The Germans are pitted against veteran Philippine football players Norman Fegidero (who scored the goal that beat the Harimau Malaya in the 1991 SEA Games), Roroy PineroFillamer Rosell, and keeper Melo Sabacan.
Admission to the football all-stars game is free!
This FIFA Tier 2 International Friendly Match is part of the series of events organized in celebration of 60 Years of Diplomatic Relations between Germany and the Philippines this 2014. The game is made possible through the cooperation of the Philippine Football Federation (PFF) and the Deutscher Fussball-Bund (DFB), and is supported by the German Embassy Manila, the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), SMART Telecom, and the United Football League (UFL).
A Grassroots Festival to be participated in by different youth clubs (13 & under, 9 & under players) will also be held in the morning prior to the match. This festival seeks to stimulate football values among young players as well as to inspire them to play for the country in the future.
Germany, reigning FIFA World Champion and avid soccer nation, is a strong partner of the Philippines in the promotion of football in the country. The German Football Federation (DFB) has commissioned the German football expert Thomas Roy to assist the Philippine Football Federation in establishing a national grassroots football program focusing on young players and talents. The Philippine national team – the Azkals, is currentlycoached by German-American Tom Dooley.
The DFB also annually sponsors 2 football trainers from the Philippines for a 6-week intensive coaching course in Germany.



Philippines 0-13 Germany

15 October 2014

UFL FA League Cup - Thursday

UFL FA League Cup

17.15 Laos Fc 1-1 Kaya

20.15 Global 12-0 Manila All-Japan FC

Both matches at Rizal Memorial Stadium

Group A

1Ceres - La Salle FC412
2Loyola FC49
3Pachanga Diliman FC46
4Stallion FC34
5Manila Jeepney FC44
6Green Archers United FC42
7Phil. Army FC30

Group B

1Kaya FC39
2Global FC39
3Team Socceroo FC57
4Manila All-Japan FC35
5Forza FC54
6Laos FC33
7Dolphins United FC40

Top 4 in each group to quarterfinals.

YouTube : Loyola 3 Pachanga Diliman 2, 2014 UFL FA League Cup